“Crispy”

Lunch!

PHOTO PROMPT © Shaktiki Sharma

 

‘Catch it…Quick!’ She squealed.

He snatched up the grasshopper and held it, dangling between his fingers. ‘What do you want with this ugly thing?’

‘Just keep ‘hold of it and come on.’ She rushed him inside the building and up to their apartment. ‘Don’t let go of it.’

He stood between the kitchen area and the living room area of the dinky efficiency apartment, watching her grab a skillet, throw in some butter, and set the heat to high.

‘Seriously?’ He asked as he put two and two together.

She paused, lid at the ready. ‘Oh, yeah, tastes like chicken.’

Wc: 100

If you would like to join the 100 word weekly writing craze known as Friday Fictioneers, please join us out at the blog of our lovely hostess, Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. We love to see you stop by, and maybe even share a story with us.  You can find us all at: https://rochellewisoff.com/2017/03/01/3-march-2017/

43 thoughts on ““Crispy”

  1. Dear Jelli,

    I think I just lost my appetite. 😉 Doesn’t everything taste like chicken? So what does chicken taste like? And why did he cross the road. (Sorry, I couldn’t resist.) At any rate she’s resourceful. I really did enjoy your story.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Rochelle,
      As one who works for America’s largest poultry company, I can tell you that chickens do NOT like to have their motives for crossing the road questioned. It gets old–and they find it offensive and demeaning. And don’t start on the “which came first” thing either.

      Thank you,
      Foghorn Leghorn

      Liked by 3 people

  2. There was a boy on our school bus who would eat live grasshoppers for 25 cents. You be amazed at how many kids gave him a quarter just to watch him eat bugs. I think I’d like a little butter and garlic with mine.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. One of my FosterMoms came by for a visit and I told her about the pic and read her my story. She laughed, and reminded me that I used to love these delicacies sauted in butter with a touch of honey, and covered in chocolate. I don’t remember that.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

